About

12105712_10103834962621023_6111471886578788798_n

~ Hey there! It’s me!

Okies, so firstly to introduce myself – I am Niti… Niti Shrivastava… Niti Shrivastava Shukla or Niti Shukla! Don’t worry, they’re all the same person… The variations follow the Indian traditions, where after marriage, the girl gives up her maiden name and takes over husband’s family name (like in the older days) or keeps her maiden name along with adding her husband’s family name after marriage (like nowadays). I will explain this in detail in another blog post. Trust me it’s going to be a long one!!

Born in Mumbai, India and brought up in Kuwait, I moved to the US to pursue my Bachelors in engineering for which I attended Virginia Tech. in Blacksburg, VA. Since graduating in May 2008, I have been working as a Safety and Risk Engineer in the Oil and Gas field in Houston, TX.

I met the love of my life at Virginia Tech. and we started dating a month into university – talk about being fast! With love I call him Jaanu, which means sweetheart, or beloved, in Hindi. Our love story is a blog post for another day… We got married in Nov 2011 (will be sharing it over multiple blog posts, since Indian weddings are a 5 day affair). We did long distance for 4 years and finally, since June 2012 he has been living with me in Houston. He loves the city and his job. He moved here from Lynchburg, VA so needless to say he loves living in the big city, for more reasons than just me 😉

My parents live in Kuwait, my older sister in India and I with my hubby dearest in Houston, TX, USA. These 4 are my lifelines! More of my history in another blog post – trying to keep this short and sweet 🙂 Along with being an engineer by day, I have another full-time job being a dedicated wife, loving sister and daughter and a dutiful daughter in law.

I love the water and love swimming, be it the pool or beaches!! I am a total beach lover, with my ideal vacation being to anywhere beachy as I love everything to do with sun and sand. I love to cook, watch movies (TV in general too), I am pretty outdoorsy, enjoy a stroll in the park and I definitely am a people’s person, loving to catch up with my family and friends. I am foodie too and as that suggests, it’s a constant battle between that last piece of cake and being a size 6!

My sleep is very important to me and I am a firm believer in 8 hours of sleep… I can sleep anywhere anytime… That really is my favorite way to pass time. I am a travel enthusiast with an incurable case of wanderlust! I love colors, with blue being my favorite color. I feel like that color has so much depth in it. From the sky to the ocean, so much depth and variation, it’s beautiful. I love everything Bollywood and am self-proclaimed Bollywood queen. I am 29 years old, turning 30 on 28th April. I am a Taurus and a true one at that!

So welcome to my little world on the World Wide Web and please stay awhile…

2 thoughts on “About

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s